Merit Scholarship Winners Exhibition

The Art Students League Presents an Exhibition of Winners of the Merit Scholarship of 2018

(New York, NY): In May 2018, thirty-four students received a full year scholarship based on the merit of their work. This exhibition presents new works created during the following year by winners of the Merit Scholarship 2018. The scholarships were awarded by an invited jury of professional artists, critics and gallerists. The Merit Scholarship is given in support of full-time study at the League and are made possible by generous donations.

Read the press release here.

Exhibition Dates: July 27- August 13, 2019
Opening reception: Aug 1, 2019, 6-8 pm

The Merit Scholarships are rewarded in three categories, Abstract, Realism and Semi-Abstract/Semi-Objective.

All the students competing must have studied a minimum of 210 cumulative class hours and bring their physical works in for jurying. Close to 200 students competed for the 34 scholarships in 2018.

Artists in the exhibition:
Miriam Ancis, Jonathan Andrews, Donna Bolkcom, Amanda Briggs, Dana-Marie Bullock, Elyane Carvalho, Elaine Coban-Leverone, Alfred C Colella, Daniel Colon, Daniel De Raey, Sid Edwards, Thaddeus Gosciewski, Primer Grace, Matti Havens, Chang Wan Jin, Katie Karram, Mary-Jane King, Austin Lee, Francis Nguyen, Yuri Ohara, Grace Olson, Mariana Oushiro, Sophia Pedlow, Anna Rabinowitz, Antonio Santos, Ella Sherman, Maria Patricia Talbot, Idalja Temmer, Patricia Van Ardoy, Yuko Yamaguchi and Michael Yurick

About The Art Students League of New York:
The League was founded in 1875 by students breaking away from the National Academy of Design. That independent spirit remains at The League today, where students pursue their work unconstrained by dogma, politics or burdensome tuition. We educate students in the language and process of making art in an environment where anyone who wishes to pursue arts education can realize his or her full potential. The League fulfills this mission by offering affordable, high-quality education and instruction in painting, drawing, printmaking, sculpture and assemblage. Artists who have studied at the League include Georgia O’Keeffe, Norman Rockwell, Jackson Pollock, Robert Rauschenberg, Louise Bourgeois, Alexander Calder, James Rosenquist and Ai-Weiwei, among others.

MEDIA CONTACTS:  Mikaela Duhs | 718.522.7171 | [email protected]

To learn more about named scholarships and giving opportunities, please email Jennifer Solomon at: [email protected]


Stay connected